Toolkits

SPEAR aims to offer creative practitioners and educational providers with some key toolkits that will enable them to set up and run creative educational workshops for young people.  If this site does not provide the tools you require for your creative practice and ideas please contact us with your requests.

Funding

Securing funding is usually a requirement to enable creative projects to happen.  However before jumping head first into grant applications we recommend researching into what resources are already on offer, for example some local organisations may already offer subsidised creative workshops for young people.  We also recommend, where possible to work in partnership.

Partnerships can be vital in establishing a project or workshops and also when working towards sustaining activity.  Partnerships enable you to share resources like fundraisng, marketing and, most importantly, generating ideas.

Useful Contacts

If you are looking for futher help in establishing your creative project or need further information or advice you can contact the Surrey Arts Development team:

Community Arts Manager: Karl Newman karl.newman@surreycc.gov.uk 01483 519279

Contemporary Music Officer: Jim Pinchen james.pinchen@surreycc.gov.uk 07875 753032

Dance Officer: Sarah Gilmartin sarah.gilmartin@surreycc.gov.uk 01483 519282

Drama Officer: Aimee Fairhurst aimee.fairhurst@surreycc.gov.uk 07989 081383

Visual Arts Officer: Alison Clarke sa.visual@surreycc.gov.uk 01483 519280

www.surreycc.gov.uk/arts

You can also contact your local arts officer:

Elmbridge: Peter Allen pallen@elmbridge.gov.uk 01372 474584

Epsom: Sam Beak sbeak@epsom-ewell.gov.uk 01372 732000

Guildford: Su Kelland su.kelland@guildford.gov.uk 01483 444769

Mole Valley: Lesley Spiers lesley.spiers@molevalley.gov.uk 01306 870609

Runnymede: Chris Hunt chris.hunt@runnymede.gov.uk 01932 425670

Spelthorne: Cat Learmonth c.learmonth@spelthorne.gov.uk 01784 446453

Surrey Heath: Samantha Watson samantha.watson@surreyheath.gov.uk 01276 707603

Tandridge: Lisa Phillips lphillips@tandridgeleisure.co.uk 07970 101859

Waverley: Charlotte Hall charlotte.hall@waverley.gov.uk 01483 523390

Woking: Louise Crane louise.crane@woking.gov.uk 01483 743702

 

Partnership working plays a vital role is establishing and maintaining arts projects and supporting arts organisations.  For example Surrey Artists Open Studios works in partnership with the County Council, District and Borough Councils, surrey galleries, surrey media, Visit Surrey and educational providers.  Without their partnerships, Surrey Artists Open Studios would not be able to develop into a self sustaining organisation that supports Surrey practitioners.

Partnerships work both ways, they have to be mutually beneficial, they are about sharing resources to maximise both of your potentials.

 

'...there is no ‘one-size-fits-all' model for partnership work. What is essential is that partnerships...need to be based on an understanding of each others’ goals and operations and an appreciation of the mutual and complementary benefits of joint

working. It is important to bear in mind that partners can work on a project even if their aims differ – a project can often serve several aims at the same time, It is often most effective when partnership projects are jointly planned, to knit together different specialisms and aims from the outset.' From Building Partnerships - a toolkit for literature organisations and libraries http://issuu.com/writerscentrenorwich/docs/building_partnerships15_08/1?utm_source=WCNmasteremailLIST&utm_campaign=34fcadfe93-Libraries_Reports8_17_2012&utm_medium=email